Retisonic – Lean Beat (EP) (2003)

This was Retisonic’s first EP, recorded with J.Robbins at Water Music in Hoboken, New Jersey for Silverthree. Jason and Joe wrote and recorded as a duo but always with the idea of becoming a three or four piece before leaving for tour. Soon after this was completed, we meet Joe’s old pal from SLC Jim Kimball and all would be complete. Below is one of many reviews for Lean Beat.

Detailed item info

Album Features
UPC: 711574471027
Artist: Retisonic
Format: CD
Release Year: 2006
Record Label: Silverthree Sound Recordings
Genre: Rock & Pop

Track Listing
1. Caught in the Light
2. Malaligned
3. Take Your Gun and Hide
4. First Night of a Year Long Mistake
5. Filthy Way to Lose Yourself

Producer: J Robbins, Retisonic
Distributor: Redeye Music Distribution
Recording Type: Studio
Recording Mode: Stereo
SPAR Code: n/a

Album Notes
Retisonic: Jason Farrell (vocals, guitar, bass); Joe Gorelick (drums, percussion, background vocals).Recorded at Inner Ear Studios, Arlington, Virginia.Recorded as a duo, Lean Beat finds former Bluetip guitarist/vocalist Jason Farrell and ex-Garden Variety drummer Joe Gorelick coming together as Retisonic to embrace the modus operandi outlined in this EP’s title. And the disc — produced by J. Robbins (Dismemberment Plan, Jets to Brazil, Jimmy Eat World) — is indeed musically fat free. Just check the basic, brute force of “Caught in the Light” which blows the door wide open for the Jawbreaker-inspired hookery of “Malaligned.” An aggressive, love-on-the-rocks rocker like “Take Your Gun and Hide” is as likable as it is disturbing, with lines about physical abuse and dysfunctional amour, but Farrell’s six tunes are top-notch, inclusive of “First Night of a Year-Long Mistake,” which starts out with tender, acoustic touches and transforms into a muscular ode to regret. ~ John D. Luerssen


Leave a Comment